Google will remove your account permanently if you haven’t logged in to your accounts in the last 2 years. Google announced on Tuesday it would delete accounts that had remained unused for two years, to protecting users from security threats such as spam, phishing scams, and account hijacking.
it might delete the account and content across Google Workspace, which includes Gmail, Docs, Drive, Meet and Calendar, as well as YouTube and Google Photos.
The company says this change to its inactivity policy will not apply to school or business accounts, only those with personal accounts.
In 2020, Google had said it would remove content stored in an inactive account, but not delete the account itself.
The policy is effective immediately, but it won’t immediately affect users with inactive accounts. The earliest account deletion will start in December 2023.
Starting Tuesday, Google will send multiple notifications to the account email address and recovery mail of the inactive accounts before deletion.
Keeping Your Account Active
The simplest way to keep a Google Account active is to sign-in at least once every 2 years.
The Company Policy says “If you have signed into your Google Account or any of our services recently, your account is considered active and will not be deleted.”
If you’ve checked your email, watching a YouTube video or downloaded an app on the Google Play Store, using Google Drive your account is not at-risk for deletion.
Also read more: https://www.skipper.pk/google-increases-support-for-pakistans-future-with-3-new-courses-and-44500-scholarships-for-women-and-young-graduates-through-google-career-certificates/